For a law to pass how many states had to agree

How many states must approve for a law to be passed articles of confederation?

Passing a Law. Nine of the 13 states must vote in favor of it. Amending. To change the Articles, every state had to agree.

How many states had to approve a new law?

nine states

How many states have passed to agree for a law or amendment?

Congress must call a convention for proposing amendments upon application of the legislatures of two-thirds of the states (i.e., 34 of 50 states). Amendments proposed by Congress or convention become valid only when ratified by the legislatures of, or conventions in, three-fourths of the states (i.e., 38 of 50 states).

How many of the 13 states needed to approve a law before it could be passed?


What does Article 7 of the Constitution mean?

The text of Article VII declares that the Constitution shall become the official law of the ratifying states when nine states ratified the document. … The main dispute between Anti-Federalists and Federalists was whether the new Constitution could lawfully be ratified by nine states.

What did the judicial branch look like under the Articles of Confederation?

The national government under the Articles of Confederation consisted of a single legislative body, called the Congress of the United States. … Additionally, there was not an executive or judicial branch of government under the Articles.

What is the 29th Amendment?

The Congress shall establish a target population for the United States for the purpose of assuring a high standard of living and quality of life for its citizens.

You might be interested:  What is sharia law and should you be scared

Why did only 9 states ratify the constitution?

This was done in two ways: (1) Ratification or rejection would come not from state politicians, but from conventions directly elected by the voters for the sole purpose of considering the Constitution. … 3), the Framers believed that any combination of nine states would comprise a majority of American citizens.

Did all 13 states ratify the constitution?

As dictated by Article VII, the document would not become binding until it was ratified by nine of the 13 states. Beginning on December 7, five states—Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, and Connecticut—ratified it in quick succession.

Has any convention of states happened?

Conventions of states also have been called “committees of states,” “congresses,” and “commissions.” … This was a true convention among five states: Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming. It met intermittently from July 22, 1946 to August 5, 1949.

Who wrote American Constitution?

James Madison

How long did it take to write the US Constitution?

A. The question is not as straight forward as it might sound. The Constitutional Convention made many drafts and many revisions to the Constitution. Better, perhaps, to note when the Convention started, May 25, 1787; and when it adjourned, September 17, 1787, or 116 days.

Which states ratification guaranteed the constitution’s approval?

The Federalists needed just four more to win ratification. Massachusetts voted in early February. Delegates to the state convention wanted the Constitution amended to include guarantees to protect citizens’ rights. They agreed to ratify if these guarantees were added later.

You might be interested:  How do state and federal criminal law differ

Which states did not ratify the Constitution?

The 15 states that did not ratify the Equal Rights Amendment before the 1982 deadline were Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Utah, and Virginia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *