How many of the 13 states had to agree in order to create a new national law?

How many of the 13 states needed to ratify the constitution for it to become a law?

Instead, on September 28, Congress directed the state legislatures to call ratification conventions in each state. Article VII stipulated that nine states had to ratify the Constitution for it to go into effect. Beyond the legal requirements for ratification, the state conventions fulfilled other purposes.

How many of the 13 states had to approve what Congress did?


How many states had to approve the amendment for it to become a law?

A proposed amendment becomes part of the Constitution as soon as it is ratified by three-fourths of the States (38 of 50 States).

What required the agreement of 9 or the 13 states?

9 of 13 state delegations had to agree before Congress could act. … Each state elected delegates (representatives) each year and each delegate had one vote in Congress. Each year the Congress would elect the president of the Congress (but not the nation).

Did all 13 states ratify the constitution?

As dictated by Article VII, the document would not become binding until it was ratified by nine of the 13 states. Beginning on December 7, five states—Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, and Connecticut—ratified it in quick succession.

What is the 29th Amendment?

The Congress shall establish a target population for the United States for the purpose of assuring a high standard of living and quality of life for its citizens.

How many years did it take for all 13 states to ratify the Articles of Confederation?

The Continental Congress adopted the Articles of Confederation, the first constitution of the United States, on November 15, 1777. However, ratification of the Articles of Confederation by all thirteen states did not occur until March 1, 1781.

You might be interested:  What was the purpose of the south african "pass law"?

Why did it take so long to ratify the Articles of Confederation?

It took the states so long to ratify the Articles of Confederation because The smaller states wanted all excessive land claims handed over to Congress instead of remaining with the original [ states. ]

What are the 13 Articles of Confederation?

Articles of Confederation and perpetual Union between the states of New Hampshire, Massachusetts-bay Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia.

What is the three state strategy?

Another bill has traditionally been introduced each year which pursues the so called “three state strategy.” The three state strategy is based on the fact that the Madison amendment concerning congressional pay raises went to the states for ratification in 1789 and reached the ¾ goal in 1992.

How long do states have to ratify a proposed amendment?

seven years

Why did only 9 states ratify the constitution?

This was done in two ways: (1) Ratification or rejection would come not from state politicians, but from conventions directly elected by the voters for the sole purpose of considering the Constitution. … 3), the Framers believed that any combination of nine states would comprise a majority of American citizens.

Who wrote the Constitution?

James Madison

What powers did the states have under the Articles of Confederation?

Each state held “its sovereignty, freedom, and independence, and every power, jurisdiction, and right, which is not by this confederation expressly delegated to the United States, in Congress assembled.” The Congress, the primary organ of the new national government, only had the power to declare war, appoint military …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *